• Translate    
  • Quick links     
Our Mission is to inspire and prepare all students to realize their potential and enhance our global community.

HALL HIGH SCHOOL

975 North Main Street
West Hartford, CT 06117
Phone: 860-232-4561
Fax: 860-236-0366

Dan Zittoun, Principal 

Science

STAFF

SUPERVISOR EMAIL PHONE WEB LINK
 Mike Rollins  mike_rollins@whps.org  x5146  
TEACHERS      
 Kristin Bailey (formerly Schwarz)  kristin_schwarz@whps.org  x6449  Websites
 Norman Burtness  norman_burtness@whps.org  x6548  Blog
 Cindy Caruk  cindy_caruk@whps.org  x6432  Website
 Kathleen Coghill  kathleen_coghill@whps.org  x6434  Websites
 Nicola Culmo    nicola_culmo@whps.org  x6425  Websites
 Johanna Foley   johanna_foley@whps.org  x6463  Websites
 Carolyn Goerner   carolyn_goerner@whps.org  x6430  Website
 Chris LaForte   chris_laforte@whps.org  x6546  Website
 Nora McHugh  nora_mchugh@whps.org  x6450  Websites
 Leanne Nolan   leanne_nolan@whps.org  x6711  
 Ben Norland  benjamin_norland@whps.org  x6460  Website 
 Derek Palmisano  derek_palmisano@whps.org  x6538   Website
 Tricia Snodgrass   tricia_snodgrass@whps.org  x6427  Websites
 Mark Summa  mark_summa@whps.org  x6549  
 Anthony Wasley  anthony_wasley@whps.org  x6550  Website
 Samantha Walter  samantha_walter@gmail.com  x6332  

CURRICULUM

The mission of the secondary science program is to educate all students to be scientifically literate and responsible citizens. The goal of science education is to develop scientifically literate citizens who understand and apply the knowledge and processes of science. It encourages a positive attitude toward solving problems and a curiosity to understand and appreciate the impact of science and technology on the natural world and on society. Science is more than a body of facts, a set of principles or a collection of sophisticated tools. It is a structured, creative and active method of asking and answering questions. An effective framework for teaching science must be based on knowledge of scientific principles and on an understanding of logical thought processes. Effective science education requires a developmentally appropriate and sequential program that stresses problem solving and inquiry through laboratory experiences and a variety of learning activities. Effective science education will help students become informed adults capable of responsible decisions, independent action and teamwork. It will enable all students to develop an understanding of the interconnections between science and technology and the shared human responsibility to preserve and improve life on Earth.

DOCUMENTS AND LINKS

West Hartford Public Schools

50 South Main St, West Hartford, CT  06107

T: 860-561-6600

F: 860-561-6910

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite