• Translate    
  • Quick links     
Our Mission is to inspire and prepare all students to realize their potential and enhance our global community.

Offices

Administrative offices for the West Hartford Public Schools are located in the Town Hall building at 50 South Main Street. 

Transition to Kindergarten


A child must be 5 years old on or before January 1st of the academic school year to be eligible to attend public school in West Hartford. Most schools begin their kindergarten screening and orientation process between March and May for the next school year. If you are unsure as to which school year your child will attend, choose from the following:

I want to know more about...


Lunch and Breakfast

Elementary school cafeterias offer nutritious hot meals to students each day. Menus are sent home monthly so you can plan with your child. In your child’s first day of school packet, you will receive additional information on meal and snack prices and payment information, including an application for free or reduced-price meals. For more information about the meal program, payment, borrowing, and prices, click here.

Summer Practice Bus Ride Information

Prior to the start of school a bus ride is scheduled to familiarize New pre-k (Charter Oak, Smith, Webster Hill) and kindergarten students who are eligible for transportation with the feel of riding a school bus for the first time. Click here for dates and more information.


The program is not the actual school bus route and the driver is not your child's actual driver.


The Transportation Provider is First Student, Inc.
860 953 2030


WHPS Transportation Coordinator: Damaris Torres
860 561 6647

Parent Orientation and Registration Dates

2018 Kindergarten Registration Schedule

Aiken School
4/3/18 Tuesday
4/04/18 Wednesday

Braeburn School
5/10/18 Thursday
5/11/18 Friday

Bugbee School
5/1/18 Tuesday
5/3/18 Thursday

Charter Oak International Academy
5/17/18 Thursday
5/18/18 Friday

Duffy School
4/23/18 Monday
4/24/18 Tuesday
4/26/18 Thursday

Morley School
5/07/18 Monday
5/08/18 Tuesday

Norfeldt School
5/21/18 Monday
5/22/18 Tuesday

Smith STEM School
5/30/18 Wednesday
5/31/18 Thursday

Webster Hill School
5/15/18 Tuesday
5/16/18 Wednesday

Whiting Lane School
5/23/18 Wednesday
5/24/18 Thursday

Wolcott School
4/17/18 Tuesday
4/18/18 Wednesday
4/19/18 Thursday

Residency Requirements

All students must register in the Residency Office (Town Hall 154) before they are admitted to or evaluated by the West Hartford Public Schools. Click here to view the information regarding necessary documentation and contact information.

Immunization Requirements

Click here for more information about the immunization requirements for enrolled students in Connecticut.

GRASP Summer Program

G.R.A.S.P. (Get Ready at Summer Pre-School) at Whiting Lane Elementary School

This program is for children entering Kindergarten in Summer 2018.
Experience early learning skills such as

  • paying attention
  • following instructions
  • taking turns
  • completing tasks
  • improving small & large motor skills
  • enjoying music
  • fun projects
  • making friends

Transportation is available for eligible students. For more information about dates, cost, and how to register, please call The West Hartford Continuing and Summer Education Office at 561-6900.


Expectations for children entering Kindergarten

Staff from West Hartford Public Schools and our community providers have collaborated to create a document outlining expectations for entering Kindergarten. To learn more about what your child will be doing in Kindergarten, and ways you can get ready, click here.

West Hartford Public Schools

50 South Main St, West Hartford, CT  06107

T: 860-561-6600

F: 860-561-6910

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite